Don’t Just Write a Story, Bleed One.

If you aren’t passionate about the story you’re telling, stop telling it. Because a great story is like giving birth: it’s long, painful, will be very draining at times, and you’ll get to a point where you just wanna push it out already!

You have to love your story enough to go through the sweat, blood, and tears it’ll require to come to fruition and grow into something beautiful.

I edited my high-fantasy novel over thirty-three times and had a handful of eyes peruse through it before finally reaching out to an amazing designer to begin the book cover process. And as he begins (this month), I STILL have to go back through my novel to fix a few things spotted by my proofreader.

Now don’t get me wrong, there WILL be times where you feel like giving up, but if you really love your story, you won’t. And here’s the clincher, if you don’t love your story, what makes you think your audience will?

It took over two dozen edits until I came to a place of really loving my high-fantasy story. Reading it now is a breeze. When you read over your story, do you get lost in it, as if it wasn’t even your own? When your novel gets to THAT place, it’s an amazing feeling. But until then, is your story worth laboring for?

If the answer is no, then think hard about a story you wish someone would tell you, and then write it.

Want more writing tips and encouragement? Visit the home page and follow my blog. If you have a story you’d like me to help make great, visit the services page and send me a message with your genre and word count, and we can begin the process. Happy helping!

One thought on “Don’t Just Write a Story, Bleed One.

Leave a Reply

